The Cotonou Partnership Agreement

Perhaps the most radical amendment introduced by the Cotonou Agreement concerns trade cooperation. Since the first Lomé Convention in 1975, the EU has not granted reciprocal trade preferences to ACP countries. However, under the Cotonou Agreement, this system has been replaced by the Economic Partnership Agreements (EPAs), a new regime that came into force in 2008. The new regime provides for reciprocal trade agreements, which means that not only does the EU grant duty-free access to its ACP export markets, but also that ACP countries grant duty-free access to their own markets for EU exports. iii) Ultimately, to move ACP-EU relations from a support paradigm to a new trade partnership. The Cotonou agreement provides for a procedure that can be applied when one of the parties does not respect the essential elements of the partnership. These include respect for human rights, democratic principles and the rule of law. The future agreement should cover priority areas such as. B: In accordance with the revision clause, the Cotonou agreement has been revised twice to improve the efficiency and quality of the ACP-EU partnership. The first revision was completed on 25 June 2005 in Luxembourg and the revised agreement came into force on 1 July 2008. For the East and Southern Africa region, Mauritius, Seychelles, Zimbabwe and Madagascar signed an EPA in 2009. The agreement has been implemented on an interim basis since 14 May 2012.

Also in July 2014, negotiations with the countries of the Southern African Development Community concluded successfully. The agreement was signed on 10 June 2016 in Kasane, Botswana. It entered the provisional application on 10 October 2016. Our cooperation with the countries of Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific (ACP) has been around for a long time and has deepened over time, as evidenced by the successive ACP-EU partnership agreements signed in the years following the first Lomé Convention (1975). The EU has negotiated a series of Economic Partnership Agreements (EPAs) with the 79 ACP countries. These agreements aim to create a common trade and development partnership, supported by development aid. In June 2018, we detailed our ambitions for this new ACP-EU partnership in the EU negotiating guidelines for the official opening of negotiations in New York in September 2018. Here`s a look at what we`re looking for: it`s the most comprehensive partnership agreement between developing countries and the EU, covering EU relations with 79 countries, 48 of them from sub-Saharan Africa. The Treaty of Rome, signed in 1957, created the European Economic Community (ECE). As a precondition for the signing of the treaty, France requested that the EEC establish reciprocal trade agreements with the associated African and Malagasy states (AASM, all former French colonies) and support their development efforts. At a meeting of the AU Executive Council in March, the AU expressed its desire to adopt a new cooperation agreement on the future of AU-EU relations after 2020 with the EU outside the ACP context.

The statement of the ACP Parliamentary Assembly responded with a call for solidarity and „the desire not to adopt a position that will fragment the ACP group, which will threaten unity rooted in the values of the ACP group“. The ACP-EU Council of Ministers is the supreme institution of the ACP-EU partnership. It meets once a year, alternately in Brussels and an ACP country, and consists of: (i) regional agreements have meant that EPAs would contribute to further regional integration, facilitate the entry of ACP economies into the global economy and stimulate trade and investment.